EXPERIMENTING WITH ONE OF MY FAVORITE STAMPS…

April 1, 2014

I was digging around in my stamps over the weekend, and I ran across one of my favorite stamps.  It is a well-used, well-loved, old wood-mounted stamp from a company called Hot P otatoes out of Nashville Tennessee.  That’s all it says on the wood block.  I suspect I bought it at my friend Pam Spark’s store Expressions with Heart – sadly, now closed, so she could do other stamping-related things. Check out her blog here.  Anyway, I love this stamp, and decided to pull it out again just to play.  I was experimenting with  more layered stamping from the Online Card Class Clean and Simple 3.  Can’t say all of my results would qualify as clean and simple, but that’s ok.  I can be multi-layered and complicated or grungy  or whatever.  I’m not tied to white space.

In the first example, the backgrounds are an envelope liner background from Hero Arts and a harlequin background from Impression Obsessions Cover a Card.  The inks are mostly Distress Inks except for the beige/gold/brownish around the edges.  Surprisingly that’s Archival Brilliance ink in Galaxy Gold.  You can barely see the shimmer even in real life.  I had no idea what it would look like, but I like it.  The sentiment on this one is a Funny Bones stamp from Riley & Co.  On the birthday card, no background stamp. The sentiment and sequins are from Winnie & Walter.  I really love that big bold sentiment.   On the red and beige card, the background stamp is the Impression Obsessions Cover a Card called Gradient.  On the red and olive version, the background stamp is a Hero Arts stamp called Four Leaf Grid.

Thanks for stopping by.

Hot Potato Grungy

Hot Potato birthday

Hot Potato Gradient

Hot Potato Four Leaf Grid

2 Responses to “EXPERIMENTING WITH ONE OF MY FAVORITE STAMPS…”

  1. Linda W. Says:

    Wish you could make it to club so we could see these beautiful cards IRL.

    • bowbates Says:

      Oh, Linda. I so wanted to be there this month, but I just couldn’t get everything else organized. I will definitely make it before the end of the year, just not sure when!!!


Leave a Reply

