SUMMER CARD CAMP II – WEEK 3 COLORS AND SKETCH

July 24, 2013

This week’s color combo at Summer Card Camp II is two shades of brown, two shades of purple and a light blue.  Lots of chatter about people having trouble with the purples.  I love purple, so this wasn’t a hard color combo for me.  I used sketch one for this card.  The sentiment is from Studio 490 by wendy vecchi (Stampers Anonymous).  I put part of the sentiment on the outside and part on the inside.  The Queen Ann’s Lace image on the inside is from the Inkadinkado Meadow clear stamp set.

A couple of tricks I used on the card.  First, the purple card stock for the front panel on the card didn’t quite go with the softer purple image on the inside, so I covered the panel with the ink I used on the inside image (DTP).  This helped the two purples match a little better.  I often do that when my colors aren’t quite right.  I take a piece of card stock in a certain color and cover it with the same color of ink.  The second trick was I used the stamped off image on the inside.  The purple ink was too bright, so I stamped it once on scrap paper and then stamped it a second time on the inside panel on my card.  Voila – two colors of purple – a lighter one on the inside and a darker one on the outside.  I had fun with this card, and I liked how it turned out.  I haven’t really liked some of my other creations for the card camp.  Sometimes when I am working with someone else’s colors or sketches, I have a hard time interpreting them into something I like.  Here’s the outside and the inside.  Thanks for looking.

Image

Image

One Response to “SUMMER CARD CAMP II – WEEK 3 COLORS AND SKETCH”

  1. Linda W. Says:

    Love the color combination. I would never think of using those 2 together. Great interpretation.


Leave a Reply

