Brilliance Pigment Ink on Black Glossy

March 5, 2011

I am working on a technique swap for Rubberstampchat.  I was exploring various places for techniques and ran across a technique for markers on black glossy paper at Ginger Snap Creations.  The link to the original tutorial is here.  I loved the photos at the end of the tutorial where she used metallic markers and water to create rivlets of color.  So, I decided I’d try that.  None of my attempts with metallic markers and water worked.  Here are a couple.  Interesting but not what I was looking for.

So, I scrounged around trying to find something that had a metallic sheen that might work on black glossy paper.  I settled on Brilliance archival pigment ink pads.  In most instances, I spritzed the paper with water first.  Then I applied one or more shades of Brilliance ink.  I mostly used Galaxy Gold, Platinum Planet and Crimson Copper.  After applying the ink, I spritzed more water on the paper to see what would happen. On some of them, I used a heat gun to speed up the drying process.  That resulted in the colors mixing together a bit more.  If you leave them to dry on their own, it takes a day or two, depending on how much ink and water you used.  I’ll post my ATCs when they are done.  Here are my black glossy, water and Brilliance backgrounds.

Thanks for visiting!!

One Response to “Brilliance Pigment Ink on Black Glossy”

  1. Linda Says:

    Great backgrounds, Julie. Can’t wait to see what you create from them. Love to see them IRL.


Leave a Reply

