Kings and Queens challenge…

February 16, 2011

I’m new Gingersnap Creations but I really like their style.  I’ve been watching the blog, have joined the yahoo group and watch some of the members’ blogs.  They are having a challenge on the theme of royalty, so I thought I would join in.  (Chestnut Theme Challenge, GC89: Kings and Queens.)  I made the flowers in the background with a Martha Stewart set of clear stamps – the kind that has a solid and an outline stamp for each image.  The solid wasn’t dark enough, so I colored  them with colored pencils.  I masked the flowers and created the green background with distress ink, a word stamp and a flourish stamp.  Can’t tell you where the image came from.  I picked it up several years ago.  There is a funny story about the sentiment.  I designed the card around the sentiment stamp, which I have never used before.  I put the whole card together and then started on the sentiment block.  Much to my surprise, I discovered that the actual stamp does not say “There was once a world…” as is indicated on the top of the stamp.  The actual stamp says something completely different!! (“May the moon light your way…..”  Nothing to do with kings or queens.) I laughed.  Haven’t had that happen too many times.  I recreated the Queen sentiment on the computer and finished the card.

4 Responses to “Kings and Queens challenge…”

  1. Pam Sparks Says:

    very cool Julie! love it!

  2. Shar B Says:

    Wonderful card! Love your sentiment! Thanks for playing the Gingernsnap Creations Kings & Queens Challenge!

  3. trisha too Says:

    I like it!! The bright colors are a delight, and that image is dreamy!

    🙂


Leave a Reply

