Embossing Powder Swap

April 29, 2010

I’m doing a swap at CCSwaps called, “I have embossing powders, and I know how to use them.” I was trying to find something interesting to do with embossing powders that I hadn’t tried before. I finally looked through Artist Trading Card Workshop (Bernie Berlin) and found Resin Fresco on page 55. You heat ultrathick embossing powder just until it’s hot, not until it is glassy and solid. Once cool, you paint over the heated powder with gesso and then with paint. Cool. Lots and lots of texture.  A very fun technique.  I started with this:

and ended up with this:

Other views that show the texture better:

 

 

One Response to “Embossing Powder Swap”

  1. alcoholinky Says:

    love texture and colour on your frame. nice sentiment to have around too! thanks for your lovely comments on my blog.


Leave a Reply

